Flicker

Cigarette     Some days the light goes out in the hall,
Flickering unsteadily like cigarettes on
Windy nights out by the lake – unsteady steadies.

Awkwardly figuring out you were losing faith,
I literally chained smoked my nerves into a
Nicotine haze waiting for the over to be over.

I rise two steps towards the upper corner,
Unsteadily waffling on a two step, step ladder,
Given to me by my dad before he turned yellow

And died. The bulb burns my hand, a yellow sizzle.
How one forgets a lit bulb is acutely hot I don’t
Really know, but I remember why I did not change

It now.  I remember why I put up with the flicker
For so long, sighing a sigh each time as though
Somehow the act of changing is really just too much.

About Pitboss14

Cosmic surfer of paradoxes.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

